Office 365 Set mailbox default language

When you do large migrations, it might be convenient to change the default mailbox language settings for all your end users. By default each user needs to set the default language and time zone at first login to OWA in Office 365.

With the following PowerShell Script you should be able to change it within a few seconds. In this script we used the Dutch language code and Western European Standard time. Change it accordingly.

get-mailbox | Set-MailboxRegionalConfiguration -LocalizeDefaultFolderName: $true -DateFormat dd-MM-yy -Language 1043 -TimeZone "W. Europe Standard Time"

The Language ID is a number that corresponds to the correct language type. The following table shows you which number corresponds to which language.

Language (Locale) Code
Arabic (Algeria) 5121
Arabic (Bahrain) 15361
Arabic (Egypt) 3073
Arabic (Iraq) 2049
Arabic (Jordan) 11265
Arabic (Kuwait) 13313
Arabic (Lebanon) 12289
Arabic (Libya) 4097
Arabic (Morocco) 6145
Arabic (Oman) 8193
Arabic (Qatar) 16385
Arabic (Saudi Arabia) 1025
Arabic (Syria) 10241
Arabic (Tunisia) 7169
Arabic (U.A.E.) 14337
Arabic (Yemen) 9217
Basque 1069
Bulgarian 1026
Catalan 1027
Chinese (Hong Kong S.A.R) 3076
Chinese (Macau S.A.R) 5124
Chinese (People’s Republic of China) 2052
Chinese (Singapore) 4100
Chinese (Taiwan) 1028
Croatian 1050
Czech 1029
Danish 1030
Dutch (Belgium) 2067
Dutch (Netherlands) 1043
English (Australia) 3081
English (Belize) 10249
English (Canada) 4105
English (Caribbean) 9225
English (Ireland) 6153
English (Jamaica) 8201
English (New Zealand) 5129
English (Republic of the Philippines) 13321
English (South Africa) 7177
English (Trinidad) 11273
English (United Kingdom) 2057
English (United States) 1033
English (Zimbabwe) 12297
Estonian 1061
Filipino (Philippines) 1124
Finnish 1035
French (Belgium) 2060
French (Canada) 3084
French (France) 1036
French (Luxembourg) 5132
French (Principality of Monaco) 6156
French (Switzerland) 4108
German (Austria) 3079
German (Germany) 1031
German (Liechtenstein) 5127
German (Luxembourg) 4103
German (Switzerland) 2055
Greek 1032
Hebrew 1037
Hindi 1081
Hungarian 1038
Icelandic 1039
Indonesian 1057
Italian (Italy) 1040
Italian (Switzerland) 2064
Japanese 1041
Kazakh 1087
Korean 1042
Latvian 1062
Lithuanian 1063
Malay 1086
Norwegian (Bokmål) 1044
Persian 1065
Polish 1045
Portuguese (Brazil) 1046
Portuguese (Portugal) 2070
Romanian 1048
Russian 1049
Serbian (Cyrillic) 3098
Serbian (Latin) 2074
Slovak 1051
Slovenian 1060
Spanish (Argentina) 11274
Spanish (Bolivia) 16394
Spanish (Chile) 13322
Spanish (Colombia) 9226
Spanish (Costa Rica) 5130
Spanish (Dominican Republic) 7178
Spanish (Ecuador) 12298
Spanish (El Salvador) 17418
Spanish (Guatemala) 4106
Spanish (Honduras) 18442
Spanish (Mexico) 2058
Spanish (Nicaragua) 19466
Spanish (Panama) 6154
Spanish (Paraguay) 15370
Spanish (Peru) 10250
Spanish (Puerto Rico) 20490
Spanish (International Sort) 3082
Spanish (Traditional Sort) 1034
Spanish (Uruguay) 14346
Spanish (Venezuela) 8202
Swedish (Finland) 2077
Swedish (Sweden) 1053
Thai 1054
Turkish 1055
Ukrainian 1058
Urdu 1056
Vietnamese 1066

The TimeZone consists of a String representing the time zone.  Use the value from the middle column of the table below:

Index Name of Time Zone Time
000 Dateline Standard Time (GMT-12:00) International Date Line West
001 Samoa Standard Time (GMT-11:00) Midway Island, Samoa
002 Hawaiian Standard Time (GMT-10:00) Hawaii
003 Alaskan Standard Time (GMT-09:00) Alaska
004 Pacific Standard Time (GMT-08:00) Pacific Time (US and Canada); Tijuana
010 Mountain Standard Time (GMT-07:00) Mountain Time (US and Canada)
013 Mexico Standard Time 2 (GMT-07:00) Chihuahua, La Paz, Mazatlan
015 U.S. Mountain Standard Time (GMT-07:00) Arizona
020 Central Standard Time (GMT-06:00) Central Time (US and Canada
025 Canada Central Standard Time (GMT-06:00) Saskatchewan
030 Mexico Standard Time (GMT-06:00) Guadalajara, Mexico City, Monterrey
033 Central America Standard Time (GMT-06:00) Central America
035 Eastern Standard Time (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US and Canada)
040 U.S. Eastern Standard Time (GMT-05:00) Indiana (East)
045 S.A. Pacific Standard Time (GMT-05:00) Bogota, Lima, Quito
050 Atlantic Standard Time (GMT-04:00) Atlantic Time (Canada)
055 S.A. Western Standard Time (GMT-04:00) Caracas, La Paz
056 Pacific S.A. Standard Time (GMT-04:00) Santiago
060 Newfoundland and Labrador Standard Time (GMT-03:30) Newfoundland and Labrador
065 E. South America Standard Time (GMT-03:00) Brasilia
070 S.A. Eastern Standard Time (GMT-03:00) Buenos Aires, Georgetown
073 Greenland Standard Time (GMT-03:00) Greenland
075 Mid-Atlantic Standard Time (GMT-02:00) Mid-Atlantic
080 Azores Standard Time (GMT-01:00) Azores
083 Cape Verde Standard Time (GMT-01:00) Cape Verde Islands
085 GMT Standard Time (GMT) Greenwich Mean Time: Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London
090 Greenwich Standard Time (GMT) Casablanca, Monrovia
095 Central Europe Standard Time (GMT+01:00) Belgrade, Bratislava, Budapest, Ljubljana, Prague
100 Central European Standard Time (GMT+01:00) Sarajevo, Skopje, Warsaw, Zagreb
105 Romance Standard Time (GMT+01:00) Brussels, Copenhagen, Madrid, Paris
110 W. Europe Standard Time (GMT+01:00) Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Rome, Stockholm, Vienna
113 W. Central Africa Standard Time (GMT+01:00) West Central Africa
115 E. Europe Standard Time (GMT+02:00) Bucharest
120 Egypt Standard Time (GMT+02:00) Cairo
125 FLE Standard Time (GMT+02:00) Helsinki, Kiev, Riga, Sofia, Tallinn, Vilnius
130 GTB Standard Time (GMT+02:00) Athens, Istanbul, Minsk
135 Israel Standard Time (GMT+02:00) Jerusalem
140 South Africa Standard Time (GMT+02:00) Harare, Pretoria
145 Russian Standard Time (GMT+03:00) Moscow, St. Petersburg, Volgograd
150 Arab Standard Time (GMT+03:00) Kuwait, Riyadh
155 E. Africa Standard Time (GMT+03:00) Nairobi
158 Arabic Standard Time (GMT+03:00) Baghdad
160 Iran Standard Time (GMT+03:30) Tehran
165 Arabian Standard Time (GMT+04:00) Abu Dhabi, Muscat
170 Caucasus Standard Time (GMT+04:00) Baku, Tbilisi, Yerevan
175 Transitional Islamic State of Afghanistan Standard Time (GMT+04:30) Kabul
180 Ekaterinburg Standard Time (GMT+05:00) Ekaterinburg
185 West Asia Standard Time (GMT+05:00) Islamabad, Karachi, Tashkent
190 India Standard Time (GMT+05:30) Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi
193 Nepal Standard Time (GMT+05:45) Kathmandu
195 Central Asia Standard Time (GMT+06:00) Astana, Dhaka
200 Sri Lanka Standard Time (GMT+06:00) Sri Jayawardenepura
201 N. Central Asia Standard Time (GMT+06:00) Almaty, Novosibirsk
203 Myanmar Standard Time (GMT+06:30) Yangon Rangoon
205 S.E. Asia Standard Time (GMT+07:00) Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta
207 North Asia Standard Time (GMT+07:00) Krasnoyarsk
210 China Standard Time (GMT+08:00) Beijing, Chongqing, Hong Kong SAR, Urumqi
215 Singapore Standard Time (GMT+08:00) Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
220 Taipei Standard Time (GMT+08:00) Taipei
225 W. Australia Standard Time (GMT+08:00) Perth
227 North Asia East Standard Time (GMT+08:00) Irkutsk, Ulaanbaatar
230 Korea Standard Time (GMT+09:00) Seoul
235 Tokyo Standard Time (GMT+09:00) Osaka, Sapporo, Tokyo
240 Yakutsk Standard Time (GMT+09:00) Yakutsk
245 A.U.S. Central Standard Time (GMT+09:30) Darwin
250 Cen. Australia Standard Time (GMT+09:30) Adelaide
255 A.U.S. Eastern Standard Time (GMT+10:00) Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney
260 E. Australia Standard Time (GMT+10:00) Brisbane
265 Tasmania Standard Time (GMT+10:00) Hobart
270 Vladivostok Standard Time (GMT+10:00) Vladivostok
275 West Pacific Standard Time (GMT+10:00) Guam, Port Moresby
280 Central Pacific Standard Time (GMT+11:00) Magadan, Solomon Islands, New Caledonia
285 Fiji Islands Standard Time (GMT+12:00) Fiji Islands, Kamchatka, Marshall Islands
290 New Zealand Standard Time (GMT+12:00) Auckland, Wellington
300 Tonga Standard Time (GMT+13:00) Nuku’alofa

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *